Use of this Site constitutes acceptance of our Terms and Conditions
Business: The Top Things To Do In Knaresborough
Phone: 07986 731 291
Visitors and locals alike will be surprised at just how much there is to do and see in Knaresborough.
We have compiled a list of “things to do” which at last count was 42….but keeps on growing!
This contemporary art gallery is home to a mix of paintings, photographs, carvings, ceramics and wood and glass sculptures. There are regularly changing exhibitions featuring Yorkshire artists and others from further afield. Find our more at http://www.artinthemill.co.uk/
Bebra Gardens is a hidden gem, providing a haven from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. Mature trees and well-tended herbaceous borders lead down to the paddling pool and Waterside below. Originally opened in 1931 as ’Moat Gardens’ it was renamed after twinning with the German town of Bebra in 1969.
A newly surfaced track from the back of the Yorkshire Lass up to the Gardeners Arms at Bilton. From there you can cycle on the Nidderdale Greenway to Ripley and back.
Take a seat next to Blind Jack on a bench in the Market Place. One of Knaresborough’s best loved historical characters John Metcalf (1717 -1810) also known as Blind Jack, became known as an accomplished road builder, cock fighter, card player, horse rider and fiddle player. find out more here.
This chapel is 10’6’’long, 9’ wide and 7’6’’high and was hollowed out of solid rock by John the Mason in 1408. Allegedly it was built in thanksgiving to the Blessed Virgin for his son’s life after he survived a rock fall. Now it is officially recognised as a chapel by the Vatican and is looked after by St Mary’s parish on behalf of Appleforth Abbey. Find out more at here.
Beautiful grounds and riverside walks as well as picnic areas and sculpture trails. Tennis courts, pitch and putt and crazy golf are also available for those wanting more active pursuits.
This is held on the third Sunday of every month. Local stalls include bread, honey and preserves, local meat products, plants and herbs, cheeses and fruit and vegetables.
For 10 days in August the whole town turns pink for feva (Festival of Entertainment and Visual Arts) Feva features an art trail, theatre, children’s entertainment, live music, dancing and craft workshops. Find out more at http://feva.info/
Knaresborough’s own independently run theatre which is home to the Knaresborough Players and Generation X. Throughout the year Frazer Theatre hosts a pantomime, musicals, plays, concerts and community events. Find out more http://www.frazertheatre.co.uk/
The 96 steps connect Waterside with Kirkgate and are named after a Mr. R. N. Gallon who had a house at the top. A good view on the way up and a must for anyone exploring Knaresborough’s history.
The house was built from 1601 to 1625 by Sir Richard Hutton and has been the home of the Lascelles family and of Princess Mary, the Princess Royal, in the 1920’s and 30’s. Now home to the Oglesby family and a 5* wedding venue; the gardens are open to the public 2 days a year (March and July) as part of the National Garden Scheme. Find out more at http://www.goldsboroughhall.com/
An annual event in June which sees a parade of decorated beds followed by a highly competitive team race around town and through the river. Find out more at http://www.bedrace.co.uk/
Visit Henshaws Arts & Craft Centre to see the artmakers at work, fabulous shop and gallery, children’s trails, sensory garden and café. Henshaws regularly host live music acts, art exhibitions, craft fairs and other seasonal events. Find out more http://www.henshaws.org.uk/
The House in the Rock was built by a linen weaver Thomas Hill. The work began in 1770, It took 16 years to build and consisted of four rooms, one on top of the other. Thomas Hill, his wife and family lived in the house as well as their descendants until 1996 when renovation took place.
Jacob Smith Park is a 30 acre parkland on Scriven Road which was bequeathed to HBC for public use by Miss Winifred Jacob Smith. Surrounded by an impressive stone wall the park is a must for nature lovers with marked paths, ancient trees and a recently introduced nature trail. Find out more http://www.jacobsmithpark.org.uk/
A street derived from the Norse for ‘leading to the church’ Kirkgate heads steeply down past the station towards St. John the Baptist Church and St. Mary’s Church.
Knaresborough Castle is situated on top of a cliff overlooking the River Nidd. The original castle was built in the 12th century, the remains here now date back to the 14th century, namely the East Gate, King’s Tower & Court House. You can still explore the Castle dungeon, view a garde robe and take a trip through the sally port to escape under the Castle walls. Find out more here.
The first weekend in December sees the Market Place packed with stalls selling seasonal produce and festive goods. Visitors share in the atmosphere of seasonal entertainment over the two days followed by a firework finale at the Castle.
A new annual Halloween event which sees ghouls and zombies on the streets of Knaresborough whilst those brave enough follow the hidden clues.
Now the hub of the town centre and home to an array of shops and cafes. This is where the weekly Wednesday market and monthly farmers market are held as well as the annual Easter Fayre and Christmas Market.
Mother Shipton’s Cave is one of the oldest tourist attractions in England. Mother Shipton was an English prophetess who was born in a cave next to the River Nidd in Knaresborough. She made correct predictions on the fire of London in 1666, iron ships and the fate of several monarchs in her lifetime. Here you can view the petrifying well, visit the cave, museum or gift shop, have fun in the playgrounds or just enjoy the leisurely woodland walk. Plan your visit www.mothershipton.co.uk
This walk is 1.5 miles out of Knaresborough on the Ripley Road (B6165) Take a stroll through the ancient woodland and abundant wildlife of the Nidd Gorge OR take the kids on the Nidd Gorge Adventure Trail. Leaflets available from Tourist Information. Part of the Woodland Trust.
Inside the Court House museum you’ll discover the history of the castle. Also here is a surviving Tudor court room. The museum is open from Good Friday until October & has an admission charge.
Gallery featuring framed hand-made glass art, blown glass and fused glass pieces, ceramics, sculptures in wood, steel & bronze as well as an interesting range of jewellery and gifts.
Knaresborough is well known for its large number of drinking establishments; many of these could be enjoyed as part of a circular walk around town.
From the Market Place, down the High Street, left down Bond End, left again at The Worlds End along Waterside to Low Bridge, followed by left up Briggate, left again into Cheapside and back to the market Place – sometimes referred to as the Knaresborough Mile!
A picturesque railway station found at the bottom of Kirkgate/Station Road. Trains pass through on the York – Harrogate – Leeds line. The station is well served by The Mitre Inn and Carriages Wine Bar for local passengers.
A 3 day poetry and performance festival in September featuring ‘The Emergency Poet’ and other acclaimed performances. Find out more http://www.rthfestival.co.uk/
A delightful way to spend a summer’s day is to take a boat on the River Nidd and see the Waterside properties from a different perspective. Rowing boats are hired by the hour at Marigold Cafe on Waterside and Blenkinhorns at High Bridge.
A seasonal market offering local goods in the Market Place, a range of outdoor street entertainment and family events in the Castle grounds.
St John’s is a beautiful and ancient parish church in which people have been worshipping for a thousand years. The HUB@St John’s has undergone complete refurbishment ad regularly host ‘Teas on the Terrace’ on Sunday afternoons; one of the best views in Knaresborough is from this terrace. Find out more here.
Saint Robert was visited in this cave by King John as well as many pilgrims. St.Robert’s cave is carved into a limestone cliff next to the Nidd and can still be visited by the public on Abbey Road. A small chapel and evidence of a small living area are all that remain. Find out more here.
The painted ‘Town Windows’ are sponsored by Renaissance Knaresborough. Many of the town’s Georgian windows were bricked in to avoid window tax; these windows were painted in the trompe l’oeil style used to create an illusion of reality. A leaflet guide is available from Tourist Information in Castle Courtyard. Two new windows will be unveiled on 4th May 2014 in celebration of the Tour de France – they feature Beryl Burton and Brian Robinson.
Annual Boxing Day event. 12.00 noon between The Half Moon and Mother Shipton’s pub.
This stone viaduct over the River Nidd was completed in 1851 to carry a branch of the Leeds Northern Railway. The four-span bridge stands 78ft high above the river. It’s an impressive structure to look at & photograph from any angle.
Take time to absorb the stunning views and changing seasons as you walk around town. The most iconic Knaresborough views are from the Castle grounds looking down on Waterside and the River Nidd.
Situated on Castle Top the War Memorial was erected in 1921. The memorial remembers 156 casualties from the First World War and 55 from the Second World War.
Waterbag Bank is a steeply sloping cobbled street leading from the station down to Waterside – named after the leather water bags carried up to the town full of water from the River Nidd. Here you will see Manor cottage which is the only surviving thatched dwelling in Knaresborough.
Take a leisurely stroll from High Bridge to Low Bridge along the River Nidd. Rowing boats, ducks, weirs, stunning vistas and a choice of fabulous riverside cafes and ice-cream parlours.
The Wednesday market provides an excellent weekly choice of fresh fruit and vegetables, fine cheeses, local produce, clothing, health foods, plants and much more… – great to experience the hustle and bustle of the Market Place.
Walking the River Nidd is a must, a tranquil escape from life’s business. As you stroll along Abbey Road you will come across stunning wood carvings by the now infamous Tommy Craggs – a North East chainsaw sculptor. Look out for the dragon, kingfisher and others …
Reputedly England’s oldest chemist shop. The shop was established in the 1720’s but is now home to the Lavender Tearooms and an array of confectionery, herbal remedies and gifts.